Board of Governors

The school is managed by a Board of Governors. They have a wealth of experience and expertise and are dedicated to ensuring that Rowandale nurtures a love of learning, shares inclusive values, and achieves the highest possible levels of educational attainment. Within the integrated sector there is a high level of parental representation in management with at least 6 parent representatives on the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors is made up of 16 members:

  • 6 – Foundation Governors (2 of which will be parents).
  • 4 – Representatives appointed by the Department of Education.
  • 2 – Assistant teachers elected from the assistant teachers.
  • 4 – Parent Governors elected by parents of children at the school.

The Principal is a non–voting member of the Board of Governors.

The current Board of Governors are:



Aine Duffy Teacher Representative
Parent Governor
Dave Foster Chairperson/Foundation Governor
David McCartney Foundation Governor (NICIE)
Frances Hughes Principal
Gary Gracey Foundation Governor (NICIE)
Parent Representative
Lynda Johnston DENI Representative
Neil Johnston DENI Representative
Pam Tilson DENI Representative
Richard Weller Foundation Governor (Parent)
Susanne Harkin Foundation Governor (NICIE)
Fionnuala McAndrew Foundation Governor (NICIE)
Parent Governor
John McCartan Parent Governor